Obstructive Airways Disease Mini Symposium

PATS will be hosting a virtual Mini Symposium on Obstructive Airways Disease on 12 June 2021.

Obstructive Airways Disease is a group of chronic respiratory diseases that includes Asthma and COPD, with significant morbidity in Africa and the World. WHO cites 90% of COPD deaths occur in low and middle income countries and over 3 million global deaths, about 6% of total global mortality are due to COPD.

This year's World Asthma Day theme was addressing misconceptions about the disease. The aim of the symposium is to give an overview of Asthma and COPD and the current management guidelines for the African clinician to be confident in addressing the myths and misconceptions in managing patients with the disease.

Program

The program for the symposium is available here.

Time

The symposium will take place at the following times:

7:00 AM WAT (Cameroon, Nigeria)

8:00 AM CAT (South Africa, Malawi)

9:00 AM EAT (Kenya, Ethiopia)

6:00 AM GMT (Ghana)

Target Audience

Pulmonologists, fellows, GPs, pharmacists, Registrars, allergy professionals, physicians and paediatricians, nurses, physical therapists.

Registration and Fees

PATS Members and Students can register and attend for free. Click here to register. You will be asked to input your PATS membership number (if you don't remember it, contact the administrator). Students to input Promo Code = Students to register. Register by 11 June at 5PM CAT.

Non-PATS members can register for $30. Please click here to register for the webinar. Or join PATS here.  

An application will be made for CPD accreditation of the symposium.